Dreaming in the Dark “Fade to Grey”

Dreaming in the Dark
Author: Multiple
Editor: Jack Dann
Publisher: PS Australia
Published: 1 Dec 2016
ISBN 978-1-848639-68-3

Winner of the 2017 World Fantasy Award for Best Anthology

A celebration of Australia s current Golden Age of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and magical realism.

Jack Dann the multi-award-winning author and co-editor of the classic Dreaming Down-Under, the anthology that has been credited with putting Australian writing on the international map and the first Australian book to win a World Fantasy Award has collected a wonderfully eclectic range of short fiction that showcases what our best fantasists are doing right now at this genre-bending moment in time.


  1. Welcome to the Golden Age: An Introduction of Sorts – Jack Dann
  2. Sing, My Murdered Darlings – Sean Williams
  3. Falling Angel – Paul Brandon
  4. Martian Triptych – James Bradley
  5. Northerners Farewell – Rjurik Davidson
  6. Midnight In The Graffiti Tunnel – Terry Dowling
  7. A Right Pretty Mate – Lisa L. Hannett Eromon
  8. No More – Jason Nahrung
  9. Luv Story – im Westwood
  10. The Luminarium Tower – Sean McMullen
  11. Neither Time Nor Tears – Angela Slatter
  12. His Shining Day – Richard Harland
  13. The Liquid Palace – Adam Browne
  14. Heat Treatment – Venero Armanno
  15. Snowflakes All the Way Down – Rosaleen Love
  16. Served Cold – Alan Baxter
  17. The Dog Who’d Been Dead – Anna Tambour
  18. Fade To Grey – Janeen Webb
  19. All Those Superpowers and What Are They Good For? – Garth Nix
  20. Burnt Sugar – Kirstyn McDermott
  21. In Hornhead Wood – Kim Wilkins
  22. Moonshine – Simon Brown